Self Labeling “White”

There has been so much struggle endured in the realm of race mixture politics. Mixed people identified with their white half because it gave them a higher opportunity to succeed, and it can be argued that it still does. Continuing to refer to your characteristics as white makes those who are conscious of historical oppression through mere physical identification feel like there has been digression, or at least no progress in that area. There have been people I know who are not of mixed race, but refuse to identify as Mexican because they are ashamed to be linked to a race that has a negative connotation.

I always get offended when my family members and people of color tell me that I act white, talk like I’m white, or dress like I’m white. I get even more angry when I hear my friends, colleagues, and random strangers refer to themselves as “white” because they possess what they perceive as “white” characteristics.

My family comes from a rancho right in the middle of Mexico, and like almost everywhere else in the world lighter features are perceived as more beautiful. There, you’ll find women and men with light skin, hazel eyes, and blonde hair. In the same community you’ll find an even higher number of brown eyed, brunette, and dark skinned people.

My point is, you can come from an indigenous place in Mexico, and still have blue eyes. If you are 100% Mexican learn that “whiteness” does not make you better or more beautiful and it is not a compliment. You take away from traits that can come from your own heritage. Label yourself a light skinned Mexican, but not as “white” when you are not white in the first place.

Appreciate your light skin, but also learn to appreciate where you come from. Learn to not belittle the dark skinned race you originated from.

Admire, value, respect it.

Leave a comment